A Breakdown Of ChatGPT Pro’s New Limits
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: A Breakdown Of ChatGPT Pro’s New Limits on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200 ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled the Work and Codex allowance for its $100 and $500 Pro tiers. On Pro 200, the lower allowance was raised to match the higher one; other limits, including some chat limits and Plus usage, did not change.

OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased Work and Codex allowances for several paid plans on October 29, one day before the reduction was due to begin. The company says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now get twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance; Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance have been raised to match subscribers who already had the higher one.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while the planned Pro 200 reduction announced in September has been canceled. OpenAI’s updated Pro help page says the change applies automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for their next billing date. The page also clarifies that Pro 200’s lower allowance doubled to match the higher allowance; it does not describe a doubling for every Pro 200 subscriber.

Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, according to OpenAI’s pricing information. Work is used for longer ChatGPT tasks, while Codex is the company’s coding agent. The update concerns this shared usage pool, not every limit attached to a subscription. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits remain the same on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit now matches its higher one.

OpenAI also says Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note does not specify how much. An X post by Thibault Sottiaux, who leads core OpenAI products including Codex, described the change as doubling usage for Business Premium as well as all Pro tiers. Where that wording is broader than the company’s plan-specific help page, the help page provides the more detailed account of which limits changed.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes eff…
The developmentOpenAI announced revised ChatGPT Work and Codex allowances on October 29, canceling a planned Pro 200 cut one day before it was due to take effect.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Which Paid Users Gain More Capacity

The change affects how much work subscribers can do using Work and Codex before reaching their shared allowance. For people who rely on those tools for coding, research or extended tasks, a larger pool may reduce interruptions or the need to manage usage as closely. It does not mean every activity in ChatGPT receives twice the capacity: the plan’s price and several separate limits remain unchanged.

For businesses, the announcement gives a reason to review seat plans and usage expectations, but the missing Business Premium multiplier makes precise forecasting difficult. OpenAI also says the amount of usage a given allowance supports depends on the model, task and speed mode. The allowance increase should not be read as a promise that users can complete exactly twice as many tasks.

The reversal also matters for subscribers who had been told that their Pro 200 allowance would fall. OpenAI changed course just before the scheduled date, and existing accounts receive the revised allowance automatically. That avoids the announced reduction, while leaving customers to distinguish the shared Work and Codex pool from weekly chat limits and other plan features.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

September’s Planned Pro 200 Reduction

The change reverses a plan OpenAI outlined in September. The supplied source reports that the company paused new sign-ups for Pro 200 on September 10, then reopened the $200 plan and introduced Pro 500 on September 29. OpenAI’s September notice said included usage allowances would change while the monthly Pro 200 price stayed at $200. The planned adjustment was due to take effect October 30.

At the time, Sottiaux described a usage scale on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, adding that some existing subscribers would retain a 20X multiplier temporarily. The source attributes reporting on the September plan and its details to TechCrunch and The Next Web. On October 29, OpenAI’s release notes canceled the Pro 200 reduction and raised allowances for other tiers.

These limits apply to subscription usage, not API budgets. The source also says OpenAI’s always-on Dots agents retain extended limits “for now” and are counted separately. That distinction is relevant to organizations managing subscriptions and API spending as separate costs.

“We heard your kind feedback.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X, as quoted in the supplied source

Business Premium Increase Still Unspecified

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state a multiplier or a numerical allowance. Sottiaux’s post says it doubles, but the company’s plan-specific release information does not give that figure. The exact Business Premium change is therefore not fully detailed in the official release note.

OpenAI also cautions that actual usage varies by model, task and speed mode. The source provides no task-by-task estimate of how much additional work the new allowances enable. It is also unclear from the supplied material whether Business Standard, Go or Free plans will receive any later changes; those plans are not mentioned in the October 29 announcement.

Check Plan Details and Usage

Existing Pro subscribers do not need to act to receive the updated allowance, according to OpenAI’s help page. Users can check their account’s usage information and plan details to see how the change applies to their subscription. Anyone considering an upgrade should compare the specific Work and Codex allowance and separate chat limits, rather than relying on headlines saying all limits doubled.

Businesses may want to confirm the Business Premium allowance in their account or with OpenAI before revising usage forecasts, since the release note gives no multiplier. The next useful clarification from OpenAI would be a precise Business Premium figure and any details about plans omitted from the announcement. Until then, the confirmed changes are the revised Pro allowances, the canceled Pro 200 cut and the unchanged limits OpenAI lists for other features.

Key Questions

Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?

No. OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 doubled their shared Work and Codex allowance. Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on those plans did not change, and other features have separate limits.

What changed for Pro 200 subscribers?

OpenAI canceled the planned reduction. Subscribers who had the lower Work and Codex allowance received an increase to match the higher allowance; those who already had the higher allowance keep it. The lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit also now matches the higher one.

Does Business Premium usage double?

Sottiaux said in an X post that Business Premium usage would double. OpenAI’s release note confirms an increase but gives no multiplier, so the exact change is not specified in that official note.

Do current subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI’s updated help page says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.

Did ChatGPT Plus usage change?

No. OpenAI’s help page says Plus usage is unchanged in this update.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Crossing Boundaries In AI: Astra’s Gated Launch Explained

OpenAI reveals Astra, the first model to meet ‘Critical’ cybersecurity thresholds, with safeguards in place to manage its dangerous capabilities during release.

Game 3: Any Player Penta Kill?

A new betting market has emerged on whether a player will score a penta kill in Game 3, with current odds at 50%. The event is attracting attention amid high stakes.

The Future Of Storm Data In AI: Zero-Image Signature Records

AI advances with zero-image storm signatures, enabling procedural, image-free weather data recording. Development is ongoing, with implications for weather modeling.

Grok’s Odyssey Remake: 5 Key Details For AI Fans

A headline links Grok to an Odyssey remake, but the available listing provides no article text, project evidence or attributable statements.