How Retell Uses OpenAI Models To Power 100M Monthly Calls
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: How Retell Uses OpenAI Models To Power 100M Monthly Calls on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not specify when the figure was measured, how a call is counted, or which models are used.

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models, a usage figure that points to reported activity at significant scale but does not establish how many calls were completed or how the service performed. The announcement details, as described in the original analysis, do not identify the models or the period used to calculate the monthly total.

The announcement links Retell’s voice AI platform to OpenAI models and reports a monthly volume of 100 million calls. It does not describe the technical arrangement or say which parts of a phone interaction the models handle. The figure is presented as a platform call volume, not as a count of unique users, revenue, or successful customer outcomes.

Retell has not specified in the available details whether the total includes call attempts, completed calls, or another measure. Nor is it clear whether the count covers inbound calls, outbound calls, or both. Without a defined counting method and dated measurement window, readers cannot make a direct comparison with other services or determine precisely what the reported scale represents.

The announcement also provides no customer list, use-case breakdown, earlier volume for comparison, or performance data on accuracy, latency, cost, or customer results. Those omissions mean the number cannot be treated as evidence of growth or as a measure of service quality. The confirmed development is the reported usage figure and Retell’s stated use of OpenAI models; the operational detail behind both remains limited.

At a glance
reportWhen: Reported in an announcement; the measur…
The developmentRetell has reported that its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls monthly with help from OpenAI models.
At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced; the date and measurement per…
The developmentRetell says OpenAI models help power a voice AI service that handles 100 million calls monthly.

What 100 Million Calls Can Show

A monthly call figure can help companies evaluating voice AI gauge the reported scale of an operating service. Phone automation may be relevant to organizations handling large volumes of routine conversations, while model providers have an interest in how their technology is used in deployed products. Retell’s announcement therefore offers a signal of reported platform activity and a stated connection to OpenAI models.

But volume alone does not show how many distinct people or organizations use the service, whether calls reach a useful outcome, or whether automation saves money or improves customer service. The lack of a disclosed baseline also means the figure says nothing about growth over time. For buyers and competitors, the count is informative as a headline scale claim, but not as a standalone measure for comparing performance or reliability.

KitchenAid Artisan 5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Almond Cream

KitchenAid Artisan 5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Almond Cream

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Retell’s Voice AI and OpenAI

Retell provides a platform for AI-driven voice calls, and the announcement says OpenAI models help power it. Voice systems can use AI models as part of spoken interactions, but the available details do not explain Retell’s system design or specify whether OpenAI models handle tasks such as generating responses, interpreting speech, or other functions. Those examples should not be read as a description of Retell’s actual implementation.

The reported 100 million monthly calls figure has no accompanying earlier total or stated comparison period. It therefore should not be described as a rise, record, or growth rate. No independent verification method is identified in the announcement details, and no customer or industry breakdown is supplied to show where the calls occur or what services they support.

How Retell Counts Its Calls

The main unresolved issue is what Retell means by a call. The announcement does not say whether the total counts attempts, connected calls, completed conversations, repeat calls, or a different unit of activity. It also does not give the date range behind the monthly figure, leaving the measurement period unclear.

The specific OpenAI models and their roles are not identified, and the share of Retell’s calls that use them is not stated. Available details also do not include performance metrics, customer outcomes, pricing, or independent verification. These gaps prevent readers from assessing the service’s effectiveness or comparing its usage figure on a like-for-like basis with another platform.

Details Needed to Clarify Scale

No next milestone or timeline for further disclosures is specified. Retell could clarify the claim by publishing the measurement period and call-counting method, including whether the monthly total reflects attempts or completed conversations and which call types are included.

More information on the OpenAI models used, their functions in the service, and the share of calls that rely on them would explain the relationship more clearly. Customer or use-case breakdowns, alongside evidence about call completion and outcomes, would also help put the volume in practical context. Until those details are available, the figure is best understood as Retell’s reported monthly call volume, not an independently comparable performance measure.

Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Key Questions

What did Retell report?

Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models.

Which OpenAI models does Retell use?

The available announcement details do not identify the specific models or explain the tasks they perform.

Does the 100 million figure mean completed calls?

That is not clear. Retell has not specified whether the count includes attempted calls, completed calls, or another measure.

Does the number show that Retell’s call volume is growing?

No growth rate can be established from the figure alone. The announcement provides no earlier volume or comparison baseline.

Does the call total show how well the service performs?

No. The announced figure does not include accuracy, latency, cost, or customer outcome data, so it cannot by itself establish service quality.

Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

What Scientists Want You To Know About Anthropic’s Claude-Led Biological Discovery

A CNN headline says Anthropic linked Claude to a biological discovery, but the finding, the AI’s role and scientists’ objections remain unspecified.

Empower Your AI Models With OlmoEarth Studio Embeddings

OlmoEarth Studio now supports on-demand generation and export of Earth observation embeddings for advanced analysis and applications.

Monster Hunter Wilds: Ascendance – Official Light Bowgun Boosted Action Trailer

Capcom unveils a new trailer for Monster Hunter Wilds: Ascendance, highlighting boosted Light Bowgun gameplay, fueling fan excitement for the upcoming release.

The Future Of Time Series AI: IBM’s Granite Model With A Business-Friendly License

IBM launches Granite PatchTST-FM-r2, a 385M parameter zero-shot forecasting model, ranked top in GIFT-Eval, with broad licensing for business use.