🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI’s Rule Changes Meet The AI Cost Debate: What It Means For You on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI has added limits on how many paid ChatGPT accounts can be used on one device or bought with one card, and says Plus, Pro and Business users will share an allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. The changes come amid a wider debate about the cost of running AI services, including Elon Musk’s statement that Grok Bot was unsustainably expensive relative to its revenue. Neither company has published cost figures or fully detailed how the changes will affect individual users.
OpenAI has changed its paid ChatGPT account rules and plans to combine usage allowances for ChatGPT and Codex from December, while Elon Musk said the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The developments point to a more metered model for AI subscriptions, although the companies have not disclosed detailed cost figures or all the effects users may see.
OpenAI’s help center says it limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased using one payment card or device. The rule applies to ChatGPT Go, Plus and Pro plans. OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds, leaving users without a public count of how many accounts or purchases will trigger a limit.
OpenAI also says that, starting in December, Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one shared, token-measured allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited “Instant” chats will remain outside that meter, according to the source material. The precise allowance and how it will be displayed to customers are not specified there.
The changes follow a separate increase in some higher-tier allowances. On October 29, OpenAI said it doubled the Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500 and cancelled a planned reduction for Pro 200. That means the recent policy moves do not amount to a simple across-the-board cut: some customers are receiving more allowance while OpenAI consolidates how usage is counted.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
The changes make the distinction between a flat monthly subscription price and unlimited consumption more visible. A customer may pay a fixed fee while still drawing down a usage pool whose pace depends on the model and task. Combining ChatGPT and Codex allowances could also mean that work in one product affects how much capacity remains in the other.
That matters most for people using AI agents or coding tools for extended tasks. These systems may perform many steps in the background rather than return a single short answer, so a message count alone may not show how much service has been consumed. The source material says OpenAI’s rate card assigns very different token costs to different models, but it does not provide enough information to calculate a typical customer’s future usage or bill.
For businesses, the development adds a budgeting question: a seat-based subscription may not by itself predict how much work a team can complete. Companies may need to track usage and ask vendors for written details about allowances, measurement, and overage arrangements. Individual users should check their plan’s usage information before upgrading or buying additional capacity; the available information does not establish that every user will face a new charge.
Popular right now

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Dewdrop Mint

Ninja Foodi 8-Quart DualZone 6-in-1 Air Fryer, Grey (DZ201)

Shark PowerDetect Corded Stick Vacuum with HEPA Filtration, Purple (HZ4001AMZ)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Flat Fees to Usage Pools
The cost debate is not limited to OpenAI. On November 1, Musk responded on X to a user asking for a Grok Bot reset after reports that users had run through their usage quickly. Musk wrote: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” The statement concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s agent, not Grok chat generally.
The source material describes Grok Bot as available with certain paid X subscriptions and drawing from a shared weekly usage pool that also covers other services. xAI’s documentation says usage depends on agent steps and tokens, and that the pace varies by task. Musk’s post did not give cost, revenue or margin figures, nor did it announce a particular price change, usage reduction or reset.
OpenAI has previously faced questions about the economics of high-usage subscriptions. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on its $200-a-month Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That past statement is relevant to the current discussion, but it does not establish OpenAI’s current costs or explain the exact reason for each new policy.
““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””
— Elon Musk, in a November 1 post on X
Limits and Costs Still Unpublished
OpenAI has not published the number of accounts or subscriptions permitted per device or payment card in the details provided here. It is also not clear exactly how customers will see the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance, how much capacity each plan will include, or what happens when a user reaches the limit.
Musk did not say whether Grok Bot’s usage pool had already been reduced, whether a change was planned, or whether users would receive a reset or face a price change. The past tense in his post may prompt speculation about a change already made, but the post itself does not confirm one. The figures needed to compare Grok Bot’s costs with revenue remain undisclosed.
The source material also refers to reports of a post from Grok’s official account attributing “adjusted allocations” to costs and describing a separate dashboard fault. The author said they could not verify the original post. Those details should be treated as reported claims, not confirmed statements from xAI.
The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s planned December rollout of a shared token allowance for ChatGPT and Codex on Plus, Pro and Business plans. Users will need the plan-specific details OpenAI publishes to understand how the pool works in practice. OpenAI has not supplied a complete allowance table or a date more specific than December in the material available here.
For xAI, the next developments to watch are any official explanation of Grok Bot’s usage pool, changes to plan limits, or published pricing and allowance details. Until either company provides more information, the practical impact will depend on each customer’s plan and usage rather than a confirmed universal price increase.
Key Questions
Is OpenAI ending flat-rate ChatGPT subscriptions?
The announced changes do not say that OpenAI is ending its monthly plans. They indicate that some plans will have a shared usage allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, while unlimited “Instant” chats are described as remaining outside that meter.
Which ChatGPT plans are covered by the account limits?
The help-center rules described in the source apply to Go, Plus and Pro. OpenAI says it limits the number of paid accounts used on one device and subscriptions bought with one card or device, but has not published the numerical thresholds.
When will ChatGPT and Codex start sharing an allowance?
OpenAI says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans begins in December. The exact allowance amounts and full operating details are not specified in the source material.
Did Musk announce a Grok Bot price increase or usage cut?
No specific increase or cut was announced in the quoted post. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but gave no figures and did not state whether the usage pool, price or reset policy would change.
What should AI subscribers and businesses do now?
Users can check their plan’s usage page before upgrading or purchasing extra capacity. Businesses can ask providers for written details about allowances, usage measurement and overage terms; the announcements do not establish that every customer will incur additional charges.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
